Propane flashback arrestor
04-09-2014, 05:39 AM,
Propane flashback arrestor
Hello everyone,

I have the following problem.the company I work for bought a HVOF equipment and I need a falshback arrestor for propane.
I have to admit I'm new at this and have almost no experience at this.
The User's manual says that the pressure for propane is 6-8 Bar.
Does anyone know where i could find a falshback arrestor for this pressure? All I could find so far is for max 5 Bar. If this is the case, can you please recomend a flashback arrestor.
One more thing. where is the bast place to install it? behind the control panel or behind the gun?

Thank you!

04-10-2014, 02:51 AM,
RE: Propane flashback arrestor
Hi Nixx, a few thoughts for discussion and maybe others can add to the information.

a) The pressure on a propane cylinder should be at 10+ bar pressure, whilst the operating pressure you are correct is 6 -8 bars
b) Also make sure you know the flow of the propane required so the flashback does not restrict the flow
c) I recommend installation of the flashback arrestor behind the gun alternatively right at the regulator
d) make sure its a real flashback arrestor and not just return valve.
e) make sure all the other characteristics / specifications of the propane supply are met, according to your particular installation and government requirements. Remember that Propane can re-liquidfy in the lines.

Take a look at IBEDA

from Ibeda website:
The models SR, DG, and DG91 have two built-in safety functions: a flame barrier and a non-return valve (check valve). The integrated flame barrier extinguishes the flashbacks and protects the valve to make sure it works safely even after a flashback. IBEDA offers flashback arrestors (FBA) for many industrial gases (Fuel Gases) such as acetylene, hydrogen, methane, natural gas, propane, propylene, butane, as well as oxygen and compressed air.

04-10-2014, 07:01 PM, (This post was last modified: 04-10-2014, 07:18 PM by plasmajet1990.)