Woven wire mesh protective coatings
09-01-2010, 09:26 AM,
Woven wire mesh protective coatings
Improve filtration efficiency and extend the longevity of Woven wire mesh Stainless Steel filters.

Hello my name is Robert, I am a student at Loughborough university currently working with a filtration company to improve filtration efficiency and extend the longevity of Woven wire mesh Stainless Steel filters in a range of applications but particularly protection from harsh corrosive chemicals (e.g. chlorides, acids).

I have read a number of threads and there apears to be some real experts who post here.

Corrosion in these harsh enviroments seems to be unavoidable without a protective barrier (coating).

My current research has yielded a number of possible coatings however the thickness of coating required appears to be an issue as the aperture of the mesh must have the minimal reduction in size possible.

My query is what coatings can people suggest which can be applied in thin coatings to protect the Stainless Steel from harsh corrosive chemicals such as chlorides and acids?

Current research has sugested the Fluoropolymer family (mainly PTFE), SiO2, TiN, Aluminium, TiO2, ZnO (not using the photocatalytic property) etc.

Any opinions on the above coatings and other ideas to solve this corrosion problem would be much appreciated.

Thank you

Robert
09-03-2010, 04:19 PM,
RE: Woven wire mesh protective coatings
Welcome Robert,

You'll need to be a bit more specific if you can. Chlorides and Acids doesn't really tell much about the application.

What size solids are you trying to filter (or pass)?

Does the mesh have to be a specific grade of stainless?

How thick can/should the coating be?

Dependent on the details it may be as simple as a liquid applied barrier coating (an oxirane or something in that vein) or it might be more complex.
09-07-2010, 11:02 AM,
Thank you very much for your message
Sorry for delay in reply I went to see the company again yesterday.