Preheating
10-12-2010, 05:40 PM,
Preheating
Hi,

I am trying to analyse what harm could preheating cause in Arc Spraying, When it seems to help (uniform micro hardness)in HVOF spraying (wire feedstock).

Thanks
PV.
10-13-2010, 01:16 AM,
RE: Preheating
Hi, PV.

Do you mean the case of complex spray, Arc spraying and HVOF spaying?

Because I can not catch your point.

I have some experience both of them.

Please explain again easily step by step.

Simon
10-13-2010, 02:18 PM,
Hi Simon,
I am comparing two different coating sprayed from a wire feed stock. One HVOF coating which required preheating (substrate)for adhesion and uniform micro hardness(vickers)

Other coating was Arc Sprayed. I have a good as sprayed deposit.

To get an apples to apples comparison, I preheated the substrate. The resultant arc sprayed coating had cracks and was poor hardness consistancy.

I know arc sprayed coating in genral do not require preheating, but why would it be deleterious?

Thanks
PV
10-13-2010, 10:29 PM,
'Flame torch' preheating directly onto prepared surface will cause surface oxidation that will be detrimental to bonding. Therefore in arc spray it is not usually used. However if preheat is required (certain applications and substrates) then indirect heating can be performed - see post "Coating freak Off From Aluminium". The initial arc spray bond layer should be applied with a 'burn pass'.

Preheating the substrate may cause (material dependent) post spray shrink cracking within but shouldn't affect coating hardness unless it was extreme. One purpose of preheating is to minimise the difference in the coefficient of expansion between the substrate and the heated particles. Also to promote metallurgical bonding, remove surface moisture and stop condensation forming.

HVOF processed wire coatings will be superior/more consistent than regular arc spray, but it is a 'horses for courses' situation.

Hope this helps
Len Wood
METAL MONSTER LTD
BIGGER BETTER FASTER MORE!
Ph: +64 9 4730705