Hardness Query
07-25-2008, 09:41 AM,
Hardness Query
Good morning to everyone who happens to be in the same time zone as me.Big Grin

My name is Sam and I have been reading this forum with interest for some time now and would like to thank Gordon and all the contributers for their excellent input.

I am a University graduate and have been involved with Thermal Spray for about 3 months now. My query pertains to the classification of the term Hardness....let me explain:

Oxides, porosity, etc. are all observable properties of a coating. They all depend on the spraying conditions, preparation conditions, etc. and can be influenced and changed by varying certain spraying parameters.

Now we come to the property of hardness. I have difficulty accepting hardness as a property of a coating in the same way that oxides and porosity are. Perhaps a better term for it would be measurable property? Hardness is a result of the coating microstructure and if we need to increase the hardness, this necessitates a change in the microstructure to some degree. Admittedly, the change in microstructure may show very limited visual difference....

I realise that observation of the microstructure alone can not predict the hardness value with sufficient accuracy, so it is an important property to measure. But I was wondering; looking at a microsection of coating only gives a view of a thin, 2 dimensional section of a coating. Could the hardness test be perceived as an appropriate method for testing a 3 dimensional section of the coating? Is this part of its function and without it, would more microsections at various points and angles throughout the coating be required?

I hope most of that was understandable, not riddled with errors and food for thought. It makes no difference to the process, but as someone who likes to know the why behind things, it seemed like something that may generate some interest on here.

Thanks for reading and apologies if I have made any mistakes on my first post!