Fundamental Question about Input Power
04-11-2019, 02:32 AM,
Fundamental Question about Input Power
Hi all,

I am an academic researcher who is trying to use thermal spray to develop new low density coatings for optics.

One way that I have been pushing the density down is by varying the following parameters: spray distance, powder feed rate, and secondary gas (He) pressure.

I have been reading literature that shows input power of the plasma. The literature says that they hold plasma current and voltage constant while they vary input power. The plasma spray technician has noted to me that input power is simply plasma current x voltage.

Who is right here? I am very confused. Thanks in advance for any help!

P.S. I've attached a screen shot of the paper.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

04-11-2019, 01:03 PM,
RE: Fundamental Question about Input Power
Volts x amps = wattage: power. 600A x 50v =30000w -- 30kw.
04-11-2019, 01:06 PM,
Hi ThermalSprayingPhysicist

I would say your plasma spray technician is correct. Holding current, voltage and plasma gas flows constant will make power constant, unless they are measuring power in a different way Question

By having He secondary plasma gas as a variable, changing this value will change the power (the voltage will change assuming constant current). Changing spray distance and powder feed rate only should have no effect on power.

Hope that helps.

Cheers
04-11-2019, 07:30 PM,
(04-11-2019, 01:06 PM)Gordon Wrote: Hi ThermalSprayingPhysicist

I would say your plasma spray technician is correct. Holding current, voltage and plasma gas flows constant will make power constant, unless they are measuring power in a different way Question

By having He secondary plasma gas as a variable, changing this value will change the power (the voltage will change assuming constant current). Changing spray distance and powder feed rate only should have no effect on power.

Hope that helps.

Cheers

Thanks for your reply!